Local governments leading the way towards a Waterwise WA

The Western Australian Government’s Waterwise Perth Action Plan sets the direction for transitioning Perth to a leading waterwise city by 2030. Today marks a milestone towards achieving the plan’s targets, with all metropolitan local governments now participating in the Waterwise Council Program.

The program encourages councils to adopt waterwise principals with free education resources, data loggers to assist with leak detection and access to greening scheme funding up to $10,000.

The Minister extended his congratulations to the Town of East Fremantle, Shire of Peppermint Grove and City of Wanneroo for being officially endorsed as Waterwise Councils in 2020. The Town of Cottesloe, Shire of Murray, City of Wanneroo and Shire of Serpentine Jarrahdale achieved Gold recognition for the first time in 2020.

Gold recognition is awarded for innovation and leadership in the pursuit of creating waterwise communities, with 22 metropolitan local governments achieving the standard. The Waterwise Perth Action Plan’s target is for all metropolitan local governments to be recognised as Gold by 2030. For the cities of Melville, Kalamunda and Kwinana, 2020 marks 10 years within the Waterwise Council Program. To commemorate this achievement, each will be presented with a sustainable park bench, designed and made in WA.

The Waterwise Council Program is a partnership between Water Corporation and the Department of Water and Environmental Regulation. For more information, visit http://www.watercorporation.com.au  

View in full here